Meet the Board of Health...
Jeff Sherman, Director
Board Members (located on the left side)
Board of Health:
Dr. Lisa Kapler, Chair
Rosemary Tobin, Co-Chair
Dave Tice
Pat McDonnell
Dr. Jodie Buehler

Board of Health Links
Ordinances & Procedures
Public Health Websites
Environmental Websites
Wells & Septic Websites
Disasters Websites
Meeting Agendas
Contact the Floyd County Board of Health
Related Links
Meeting Minutes


NOVEMBER 10, 2008

7:00 PM – 7:45 PM



Members Present:  Barb Quam, Gaylen Hicok, and Dr. Lisa Kapler.


Others Present:  Jeff Sherman, Floyd County Sanitarian, Gail Arjes, Director of Public Health , Kim Schrage, and  Misty Norton.


Members Absent:  Dr. Bruce Dietrich, Pat McDonnell



Meeting called to order at 7:00 pm by Barb Quam.


Welcome to Misty Norton, Jeff Sherman’s secretary.


Agenda approved – Motion to approve agenda by Gaylen Hicok, seconded by Dr. Lisa Kapler.  Motion carried. 


Minutes from September 8, 2008 meeting reviewed and approved by Board.  Motion made by Gaylen Hicok, seconded by Dr. Lisa Kapler.  Motion carried.


Gail Arjes, Floyd County Public Health/Home Health Administrator


A:  Gail reviewed budget expenses, income and tax asking for July, August, September, and October stating Floyd County Public Health is doing well.


B:  Flu Shot Update:  Gail reported as of November 6th, 2008 Public Health has administered 827 doses of Flu Vaccine.  Public Health will be holding a VFC Clinic for Children on November 24th, 2008 from 2:00 – 4:00 at the Floyd County Courthouse.  Dr. Kapler requested an email to her office regarding VFC Flu Clinic that will be held on November 24th, to keep her office updated on the availability of the vaccine and clinics.  


C:  Marketing update given by Gail Arjes, she is on the radio every Friday morning on KCHA updating the public on basic Public Health programs and other Public Health information.  This is working real well with positive feedback from the community.






D:  Memorandum of Understanding with Cerro Gordo Public Health that in a time of a disaster Floyd County Public Health would assist Cerro Gordo Public Health.  Jesse Marzen, County Attorney reviewed MOU and suggested an addendum be added or a MOU sent to Cerro Gordo County to assist Floyd County in time of an emergency.  Gaylen made a motion to send a similar MOU on letter head to Cerro Gordo Public Health.  Seconded by Dr. Kapler, motioned carried.


E:  Delta Dental Mini-Grant:  Floyd County Public Health received a mini-grant from Delta Dental in the amount of $1,000.00.  This money will be used to purchase materials such as tooth brushes, tooth paste and parent education material on oral care.  This material will be handed out at the VFC Immunization Clinics.  Public Health wants direct contact with parents and children to enforce the importance of good oral care.


F:  Lead Grant – Applying for Lead Grant which is due by January 2009.   


Jeff Sherman, Floyd County Sanitarian


A:  YTD Budget – Jeff updated Board regarding his budget.  Jeff is at 31% for the year.   


B:  New employee – Misty Norton is a new part-time employee in Jeff’s office.  Jeff has been training Misty in water sampling, septic systems and other basic office jobs. 


C:  Update from EH Conference in Marshalltown on Public Health System Modernization and how Environmental Health will play a bigger role in Public Health, time of transfer inspections and training.  


D:  Pat McDonnell signed the new procedures for septic installers.


Old Business:  Barb Quam informed Board of Health she would not renew her term again when it expires in December.  Dr. Kapler suggests Rosemary Tobin from Nora Springs as a candidate.  Gail informed the Board that Jaci Miller, State Consultant for Public Health will have to give an orientation session to the new BOH member.  


New Business:  No new business.


Next meeting will be held on Monday, December 15th, at 7:00 pm in the Assembly Room of the Floyd County Courthouse.


Motion to adjourn made by Gaylen Hicok, seconded by Dr. Kapler, motioned carried. 


Meeting adjourned at 7:45 p.m.




Minutes taken by:



_______________________________                                                                                              Kim Schrage


©2010, The Schneider Corporation  -  Website designed and maintained by The Schneider Corporation