Meet the Board of Health...
Jeff Sherman, Director
Board Members (located on the left side)
Board of Health:
Dr. Lisa Kapler, Chair
Rosemary Tobin, Co-Chair
Dave Tice
Pat McDonnell
Dr. Jodie Buehler

Board of Health Links
Ordinances & Procedures
Public Health Websites
Environmental Websites
Wells & Septic Websites
Disasters Websites
Meeting Agendas
Contact the Floyd County Board of Health
Related Links
Meeting Minutes


MAY 20, 2013


Members Present: Dr. Jodie Buehler, Dr. Lisa Kapler, Rosemary Tobin, and Pat McDonnell


Members Absent: Dave Tice


Others Present: Gail Arjes, Administrator Floyd County Public Health, Jeff Sherman, Floyd County Sanitarian, Roy Schwickerath, Floyd County Board of Supervisors, Lisa Koppin and Peggy Funk, North Iowa Community Action Organization




Meeting called to order at 6:00 pm by Dr. Lisa Kapler.


Minutes from the March 25, 2013 meeting reviewed. Motion made by Rosemary Tobin to approve the minutes, seconded by Pat McDonnell, motion carried.


Agenda reviewed. Motion made by Pat McDonnell to approve the agenda as presented, seconded by Rosemary Tobin, motion carried.


Lisa Koppin with North Iowa Area Community Action updated the Board on services provided in Floyd County and handout was given showing numbers of patients served in Floyd County.  Lisa informed the Board that the office in Floyd County which was located on South Grand will be closing due to lack of funding.  The program that will be most affected will be the Family Planning Program, this program provided reproductive health and family planning services.  The WIC clinics that were held at this location will now be held 2-3 times a month at the Charles City NIACC Center.


Peggy Funk, I-Smile Coordinator presented handout with School Dental Screening results.  52% of K and 9th graders in Floyd County had a dental card on record at school.  Peggy also gave handout of Floyd County cities and their fluoridation status.


Gail Arjes, Floyd County Public Health/Home Health Care Administrator


YTD budget reviewed, no amendment will be needed this fiscal year.








Gail informed the Board that the Third Party Billing Implementation Grant has been submitted. Intent to award will be released on June 20, 2013.


Gail informed the Board on the AmeriCares Program which is a program of Sanofi-Pasteur that provides free Tdap vaccinations to those that meet income guidelines.  Public Health will be working with the hospital to possible provide cocooning to newborns at the hospital with vaccine from this program.  Public Health would also like to have this vaccine available in the office to offer to those who qualify.


Jeff Sherman, Floyd County Environmental Health Report


Presented YTD budget which is at 70% for the year.


Jeff and Roy filled the Board in on the changes in the office. The Supervisors are in the process of hiring a zoning person.


Jeff informed the Board that Michael Morlan will be the new EMA Coordinator for Floyd County and he will start June 3rd. 


Jeff informed the Board that he had received a draft copy of the new contract for tattoo, tanning and pool inspections.


Old Business: None


New Business:  Change of July meeting date to July 15th.  Motion made by Rosemary Tobin to approve the meeting date change to July 15, 2013, seconded by Pat McDonnell, motion carried.


Motion made by Rosemary Tobin to adjourn, seconded by Pat McDonnell, motion carried.


Minutes taken by:





Gail Arjes, R.N.


2010, The Schneider Corporation  -  Website designed and maintained by The Schneider Corporation