Meeting Minutes

Floyd County Board of Supervisors Special Meeting

January 29, 2007, 8:00 AM


The Floyd County Board of Supervisors met for a special session at 8:00 a.m. on Tuesday, January 29, 2007 in the Board Room of the Floyd County Courthouse with the following in attendance:  Supv. Enabnit, Chair Pro-Tem, and Supv. Staudt; Absent: Chairman Dunkel.

Staudt/Enabnit moved to approve the agenda as presented.  Motion carried 2-0. 

Pat Zwanziger, PH/HHC Director, reviewed the CHNA & HIP mid-course progress reports that she would like to get sent in so she can collect funding from the state.  Staudt/Enabnit moved to approve the CHNA & HIP mid-course progress reports.  Motion carried 2-0. 

Staudt/Enabnit moved to pay the hours submitted by a township clerk for services from July 1-December 31.  Motion carried 2-0.

Richard Rademacher spoke with the Board regarding rain water problems on his property located near the ethanol plant.  Rademacher claims the tile was suppose to hold a 5-inch rain but will hardly hold a 1-inch rain.  Supv. Enabnit provided Rademacher with the contact information for Jerry Reis, VeraSun Project Manager.

The Board discussed penalties, effective date, and hearings for a wind energy ordinance.  A summary of the ordinance was sent for publication last Friday. 

The Board noted the receipt of a letter regarding North Iowa Community Action Organization relocating from the DHS building to Beck Street effective February 28, 2007.  Bob Lincoln, CPC/Case Management, and Vicki Hindershot, DHS representative, have been notified about the NICAO allocation of office space being available and have interest in the space.

Jesse Marzen, County Attorney, and the Board discussed the special prosecutor assignments for cases with a conflict of interest.  Marzen stated that Rolph Arnonson, private attorney, has agreed to take on several cases without pay through the rest of the fiscal year.  Marzen will contact Aaron Murphy, Mitchell County Attorney, to let him know his services will not be used and the Board will not be doing a resolution.

Ralph Smith, City of Charles City Attorney, and the Board discussed the 2nd Street property insurance.  Smith’s position is that since the agreement signed in December is for the option to purchase, both parties are required to carry insurance for their respective properties. 

The Board noted the following Township Trustee and Clerk appointments:  St Charles:  Guy Carpenter, Clerk, and Leland Boyd, Trustee; Rockford:  Bonnie McVicker, Trustee, and Travis Schweizer, Clerk.  Wayne Janssen, Rockford Township Trustee, chose to finish the remainder of his 4-year term ending in 2008 rather than fill the newly elected term ending in 2010.

The Board noted the receipt of letter from the IDALS regarding the levy for Brucellosis and Tuberculosis Eradication Fund will be $0.35/$1,000 of assessed value of all taxable property, a decrease of $0.05/$1,000.

The Board noted the receipt of a letter from IDED regarding extending the certificate for Enterprise Zone in Floyd County to Floyd County, Rockford EZ-1A with 14.61 acres, expiring 1 year after the 2010 Census.

The Board reviewed budgets for CPC/Case Management and County Attorney.   

A motion was made by Supervisor Staudt and seconded by Supervisor Enabnit to adjourn.  Motion carried 2-0.


ATTEST:  _________________________________             ____________________________________

            Gloria A. Carr                                                            Warren K. Dunkel, Chairman

            Floyd County Auditor                                            Floyd County Board of Supervisors



©2010, The Schneider Corporation  -  Website designed and maintained by The Schneider Corporation