Meeting Minutes

Floyd County Board of Supervisors Meeting

February 11, 2008, 9:00 AM


The Floyd County Board of Supervisors met for a workshop meeting at 9:00 a.m. on Monday, February 11, 2008 in the Board Room of the Floyd County Courthouse with the following in attendance:  Chairman Enabnit, Supv. Staudt, and Supv. Dunkel.

Dunkel/Staudt moved to amend the agenda to include discussion regarding Jefferson School.  Motion carried 3-0.  Staudt/Dunkel moved to approve the agenda as presented.  Motion carried 3-0.

The Board will review the claims individually after the meeting.

Bob Lincoln, CPC/Case Manager Director, presented a proposed Floyd County Substance Abuse Policy where Floyd County provides substance abusers and persons suffering from chemical dependency the opportunity to receive quality treatment and be directed into rehabilitation services which will help them resume a socially acceptable and productive role in society and encourage substance abuse education and prevention efforts.  The Board will act on the policy at the next regular meeting.  Lincoln will visit with Bill Faust, Floyd County Medical Center, regarding options for detox situations. 

The Board discussed the FY08 Iowa Department of Public Health County Substance Abuse contract in which the State provides a 25% match of County funds used for substance abuse.  The Auditor called the IDPH office who reported that their office did not receive the contract last year and all monies have been allocated so Floyd County will not receive our request for $2,598.75, which is one fourth of the match Floyd County intended to give Prairie Ridge.  Jay Hansen, Prairie Ridge Executive Director, has requested that Prairie Ridge still receive the $10,395 that the County had intended to give in FY08.  Lincoln and the Board discussed the $10 million reserve that Prairie Ridge is building for endowments.  The Board will decide at the next regular meeting on how much money to give Prairie Ridge.  The Substance Abuse Policy also permits the Board to appoint Lincoln to research and make recommendations to the Board on options for IDPH grants and his office would follow through with submitting grants and making sure grants are received and allocated. 

Amanda Regan would like Lincoln to do a presentation to a Mental Health subcommittee in Des Moines regarding mental health centers collaborating with ten mental health regions.  Lincoln has had favorable communication with other CPC/Case Management Directors regarding his idea to have a finance authority with the state that still allows counties to have local control on how to allocate money.     

Lincoln and the Board discussed options for Jefferson School.  Discussion included an area of the building that may be better suited for demolition, the County not interested in owning the building, and the County selling the DHS building if those offices moved to the school location.  Possibly agencies for the school include, Carrie Lane Alternative School, Charles City Housing Authority, Community Nursing/Home Health Care, CPC/Case Management/General Assistance, Community Action, Prairie Ridge, and Dept of Human Services. 

The Board discussed the abatement of $1,102 in taxes, interest and penalty for property located at 116 W Main Avenue in Rockford.  Tim Fox, Area Development Executive Director, informed the Board that he has received notice from the law office of Elwood, O’Donohoe, Stochl & Brahn that they have successfully petitioned the 2nd Judicial District Court of Iowa to eliminate ownership claims by one party and they have a warranty deed signed by Dennis Ginther the other property owner for the property to be deeded to the Charles City Area Development Corporation.  The intent is for CCADC to take ownership and apply for a $25,000 grant from the DNR and also receive $25,000 from the City of Rockford to fund the proper removal of asbestos, clean up the property and either sell it or use the property as green space. 

The Board noted the receipt of a letter from Pat Zwanziger, Public Health/Home Health Care Administrator, with her intentions to change her status from the full-time interim PH/HHC Administrator position effective February 11 to a part-time interim director until February 18 with a rate of pay to be $24 per hour.  The Board noted that Jennifer O’Brien starts as the new administrator February 18.  Zwanziger intends to stay on with the PH/HHC agency as a part time registered nurse at $24 per hour after O’Brien starts.  Supv Dunkel reported that he visited with Pat McDonnell, Board of Health Chair, regarding Pat Zwanziger’s notice.  McDonnell and Supv Dunkel discussed that there should be a probationary period for Zwanziger’s part-time RN position.  McDonnell informed Supv Dunkel that the Board of Health’s approved wages are intended to be recommendations to the Board of Supervisors and the Board of Health expects the Supervisor’s to have the final say.  The Supervisor’s discussed how to handle Zwanziger’s transfer, her probationary period, and accrued vacation.  The Supervisors requested copies of Board of Health minutes for the last year and will take action on Zwanziger’s notice at tomorrow’s meeting. 

Supv Enabnit needed to leave for an appointment.  Supv Staudt took over as chair pro-tem

The Board noted the resignation of Kathy King, Home Health Aide, effective March 21, 2008.  The Board noted the hiring of Linda Wirtjes, part-time Home Health Aide effective February 11 with a starting wage of $9 per hour.

The Board noted the fees collected in the amount of $1,836.69 from the Clerk of Court for the month of January.

The Board discussed budgets, noting that the IPERS rates will be recalculated.  The Board would like $100 put in the budget for Floyd County Barn Quilt.

A motion was made by Supervisor Dunkel and seconded by Supervisor Staudt to adjourn.  Motion carried 2-0.


ATTEST:  _________________________________             ____________________________________

            Gloria A. Carr                                                            Arlin V. Enabnit, Chair

            Floyd County Auditor                                            Floyd County Board of Supervisors


©2010, The Schneider Corporation  -  Website designed and maintained by The Schneider Corporation