Meeting Minutes

Floyd County Board of Supervisors Meeting

August 18, 2008, 9:00 AM


The Floyd County Board of Supervisors met for a workshop meeting at 9:00 a.m. on Monday, August 18, 2008 in the Board Room of the Floyd County Courthouse with the following in attendance:  Chairman Enabnit and Supv. Staudt, and Supv. Dunkel.

Staudt/Dunkel moved to approve the agenda as presented.  Motion carried 3-0.

Jesse Marzen, County Attorney, informed the Board that he offered Norm Klemesrud a part-time assistant county attorney position.  Klemesrud will be compensated at $58,401 per year and Marzen will likely move him to full time status at a later point with a salary of $64,890 per year.  The Board will act on the appointment at the August 26 Board meeting.  

Marzen provided a draft of a 28E law enforcement agreement between the City of Rockford and Floyd County.  Marzen will provide the Board with at least three months of Sheriff’s activity in Rockford by the August 26 meeting. 

With regard to the County issuing fireworks permits, Marzen recommended that the county, at minimum, require proof of insurance and training.  Discussion included not issuing permits or limiting who is eligible for permits.  The Board requested that Marzen rework the fireworks permit form to include his suggested requirements.   

The Board noted the hiring of Stacy Engelhardt as a full-time RN for the PH/HHC Department at $18 per hour effective September 8, 2008.

The Board discussed issues for the DNR/Environmental Protection Commission meeting which Supv Dunkel and Supv Enabnit will be attending to appeal the Knapp Finishers, LLC confinement permit.

A motion was made by Supervisor Staudt and seconded by Supervisor Dunkel to adjourn.  Motion carried 3-0.


ATTEST:  _________________________________             ____________________________________

            Gloria A. Carr                                                            Arlin V. Enabnit, Chair

            Floyd County Auditor                                            Floyd County Board of Supervisors



©2010, The Schneider Corporation  -  Website designed and maintained by The Schneider Corporation