Meeting Minutes

Floyd County Board of Supervisors Meeting

August 20, 2008, 7:00 PM


The Floyd County Board of Supervisors met for a special meeting at 7:00 p.m. on Monday, August 20, 2008 in the General Assembly Room of the Floyd County Courthouse with the following in attendance:  Chairman Enabnit, Supv. Staudt, and Supv. Dunkel.

Staudt/Dunkel moved to amend the agenda to include review/action regarding an agreement for professional services for the PSIC grant application project.  Motion carried 3-0.  Dunkel/Staudt moved to approve the agenda as amended.  Motion carried 3-0.

Staudt/Dunkel moved to approve the Letter Agreement for Professional Services between Floyd County and Olsson Associates for purposes of writing a grant for Public Safety Interoperable Communications with Floyd County’s share of the fee not to exceed $4,700.  Motion carried 3-0.

Bridget Moe, Emergency Management Coordinator, read information from a Hazard Mitigation Grant (Buyout) Program handout.  Joe Myhre, NIACOG representative, Moe and the Board answered questions from property owners representing three rural homes affected by the June flood.  Moe provided homeowners with a Property Owner Questionnaire and will contact homeowners who did not attend the meeting to see if they still have have interest in a buyout.  The questionnaire will be used for the County to assess the level of property owners in a potential buyout and assist the County in preparing the grant application for the State.  The Board must file a Notice of Interest (NOI) to the State by September 12, 2008.  The Board will take formal action on filing the NOI with the state at next week’s Board meeting.  The Board is also required to have a FEMA-approved Local Hazard Mitigation Plan.  Myhre will assist the County with that plan and meet with the Board in September for the Board’s approval.

A motion was made by Supervisor Staudt and seconded by Supervisor Dunkel to adjourn.  Motion carried 3-0.


ATTEST:  _________________________________             ____________________________________

            Gloria A. Carr                                                            Arlin V. Enabnit, Chair

            Floyd County Auditor                                            Floyd County Board of Supervisors


©2010, The Schneider Corporation  -  Website designed and maintained by The Schneider Corporation