Meeting Minutes

Floyd County Board of Supervisors Meeting

September 28, 2009, 9:00 AM


The Floyd County Board of Supervisors met for a special meeting at 9:00 a.m. on Monday, September 28, 2009, in the Board Room of the Floyd County Courthouse with the following in attendance:  Chairman Staudt, Supv Dunkel and Supv Enabnit. 

Enabnit/Dunkel moved to approve the agenda as presented.  Motion carried 2-0.

Enabnit/Dunkel moved to sponsor the Floyd County Community Foundation Grant application for Floyd County Search and Rescue for a trailer to store and transport a utility vehicle and related equipment.  Motion carried 2-0.

Chairman Staudt arrived at the meeting.

Dunkel/Enabnit moved to abate $171,361 of Tax Sale Certificate 2009-09001 and also abate all penalties, cost and interest of $43,400 with the certificate leaving $22,092 to be paid by FMPL, LLC on or before September 30, 2009 and to abate $24,934 of the 2009-2010 property tax with the remaining amount of $9,072 to be paid by FMPL, LLC in two equal payments of $4,536 due September 30, 2009 and March 31, 2010.  Motion carried 3-0.

Lou Cox, North Iowa Juvenile Detention Center representative, presented information regarding NIJDC services with comparisons to Central Iowa Juvenile Detention Center.  NIJDC offers a new GPS tracking system that may be an option for savings to Floyd County.  Justin Cornish and Travis Walker, CIJDC representatives, provided information regarding the County’s savings since joining CIJDC.  Discussion included services provided by each agency, a potential conflict of a person serving on the NIJDC Board due to his position with juvenile court services, waiting on the decision from a judge to determine if a juvenile who will be in detention for a long period of time can be moved from NIJDC to CIJDC, and the costs of detention services to tax payers.

Joe Myhre, NIACOG Director, and the Board discussed the Floyd County Urban Renewal draft, the roads to be included in the plan, agreements with eight communities within two miles of the roads the County intends to improve, the County’s debt capacity of $14,274,030, and dates for future meetings to meet the requirements of approving the plan before December 31, 2009.  Enabnit/Dunkel moved to approve eight Floyd County UR-T1 Economic Development Urban Renewal Agreements with the City of Charles City, City of Dougherty, City of Floyd, City of Marble Rock, City of Nashua, City of Nora Springs, City of Rudd, and City of Rockford.  Motion carried 3-0.  The Board directed Myhre to put $11,500,000, approximately 80% of debt capacity, in the UR plan for the proposed amount of tax increment debt to be incurred.  The Board intends to only certify the first year’s debt for NIACOG’s cost to write the UR plan and the bond attorney costs.

Jeff Sherman, Zoning/E911 Addressing/Sanitarian Director, asked the Board for clarification on two nuisance complaints.  The Board commented that the structures either needed to be tore down or fixed up.  Sherman also provided information from conferences regarding nuisances.  Sherman would like the Board to review the information and then make proposals to our current nuisance ordinance.

The Board noted the resignation of Nathan Brown, Conservation Technician, effective September 23.  Doug Schroeder, Conservation Director, and the Board discussed replacing the technician position at a higher wage in effort to keep the position filled and offer a competitive wage.  The Board suggested Schroeder hire a part-time, temporary help to get through the season of closing the parks.  Schroeder does not intend to hire a new technician for a few months.

Dunkel/Enabnit moved to approve the retirement of Ron Venz, Secondary Roads Operator, effective June 30, 2009.  Motion carried 3-0. 

The Board discussed dates for Vorhes versus Floyd County trial. 

A motion was made by Supervisor Dunkel and seconded by Supervisor Enabnit to adjourn.  Motion carried 3-0.


ATTEST:  _________________________________             ____________________________________

            Gloria A. Carr                                                            Leo B Staudt, Chair

            Floyd County Auditor                                            Floyd County Board of Supervisors


©2010, The Schneider Corporation  -  Website designed and maintained by The Schneider Corporation