Meeting Minutes

Floyd County Board of Supervisors Meeting

November 1, 2010, 9:00 AM


The Floyd County Board of Supervisors met for special session at 9:00 a.m. on Monday, November 1, 2010 in the Board Room of the Floyd County Courthouse with the following in attendance:  Chairman Dunkel, Supv. Enabnit, and Supv. Staudt. 

Staudt/Enabnit moved to approve the agenda as presented.  Motion carried 3-0.

The following participated in the discussion for renewing the 28E law enforcement agreement:  Doug Merfeld, Marble Rock Mayor, Deb Ritzman, Colwell Mayor, Jerry Miller, Rudd Council, Trevis O’Connell, Floyd Mayor, Deb Gaul, Nora Springs City Clerk, George Anderson, Nora Springs Mayor, and Sheriff Rick Lynch.  Discussion included:  services provided by the Sheriff’s department, some cities have a city code enforcer, a past law suit from another jurisdiction that sets precedent about cities providing law enforcement, new census numbers coming in to affect next year, changing Section 12 to read that this group meets the first Monday in November rather than the first business day following October 31, and the per capita or per hour rates for contracts.  The consensus was to change section 12 verbiage, keep rates the same for FY12, and keep all other terms of the agreement the same.  The Board will act on the rates at the next regular board meeting and provide a letter to the cities for their budgeting purposes.  New 28E contracts will be approved toward the end of the fiscal year. 

Merfeld questioned if any of the other cities were going to start a neighborhood watch program.  Marble Rock will be looking in to this in the near future.  Some of the other cities had interest in learning more about the program.

Enabnit/Staudt moved to set the Canvas of the 2010 General Election following the regular November 9th Board meeting at approximately 10:30 a.m.  Motion carried 3-0.   

The Board discussed the current 28E Cooperative Reimbursement Agreement for Regional Services Provided by the Iowa Department of Human Services between Floyd, Mitchell and Chickasaw Counties.  As of July 1, Bremer County DHS has some state workers relocated at the Floyd County DHS building.  The 28E agreement will need to be revised to include Bremer County for billing purposes.  The Auditor will provide the 28E agreement and a billing notice to the Bremer County Auditor for their Board and Attorney to review.

The Board recessed at approximately 10 a.m. and will reconvene at 10:30 a.m.

The Board reconvened the meeting at 10:30 a.m.

Enabnit/Staudt moved to go in to a closed session meeting to discuss strategy with legal counsel in matters where litigation is imminent per Iowa Code Chapter 21.5.1c.  Roll call vote:  Enabnit/Staudt/Dunkel-all ayes; motion carried 3-0.

Staudt/Enabnit moved to go out of closed session at 11:02 a.m.  Roll call vote:  Staudt/Dunkel/Enabnit-all ayes; motion carried 3-0.

Staudt/Enabnit moved to take no action regarding the closed session.  Motion carried 3-0.

Future agenda items:  1) FY12 budget process, 2) the Board would like to meet with Tim Fox, Charles City Area Development Executive Director, regarding a letter from Russel Strawn, Lake View Estates Development Agreement deadline.

A motion was made by Supervisor Enabnit and seconded by Supervisor Staudt to adjourn.  Motion carried 3-0.


ATTEST:  _________________________________             ____________________________________

            Gloria A. Carr                                                            Warren K. Dunkel, Chair

            Floyd County Auditor                                            Floyd County Board of Supervisors


©2010, The Schneider Corporation  -  Website designed and maintained by The Schneider Corporation