Meeting Minutes

Floyd County Board of Supervisors Meeting

February 11, 2014, 9:00 AM


The Floyd County Board of Supervisors met in the Board Room of the Floyd County Courthouse with the following in attendance:  Supv Schwickerath, Chair, Supv Kamm and Supv Kuhn. 

Kuhn/Kamm moved to approve the agenda as presented.  Motion carried 3-0.

Public comment:  none

Kamm/Kuhn moved to approve the January 27 and 28, 2014 minutes as presented.  Motion carried 3-0.

Kuhn/Kamm moved to approve the following claims:  County #2017, 2200, 2352-2498, Secondary Roads #15684-15713 and Drains #54-58.  Motion carried 3-0.

Supv Kuhn informed the Board about the process for reviewing the requests for proposals for engineering services for Beaver Creek Watershed projects.  I & S Group, Stanley Consulting, Veenstra & Kimm, WHKS and Yaggy Colby responded to the request.  A committee of Supv Kuhn, Chickasaw County Supervisor Tim Zoll, Dennis Sande, NCRS rep, Laurie Simpson, Zoning Administrator, and Gloria Carr, County Auditor, individually scored each firm.  The committee recommended Yaggy Colby, the highest scoring firm, for the project.  Kamm/Kuhn moved to award Yaggy Colby as the engineering firm for the Beaver Creek Watershed projects and authorize the Chair to sign and send a letter to Yaggy Colby notifying them to begin the process of developing a Scope of Services and Fees and to send “reject” letters to the unsuccessful firms.  Motion carried 3-0.

Kamm/Kuhn moved to appoint Dennis Sanvig as a Veteran Affairs Commissioner to fill the vacancy of Steve Merrill’s position with a term ending June 30, 2016.  Motion carried 3-0. 

Kuhn/Kamm moved to approve the 28-member 2014 Compensation Commission for eminent domain/condemnation proceedings, including new appointments Janelle Larson replacing Jane Frisbie, Steve Fischer replacing John Pearson, and Connie Parson replacing Bridgette Quade.  Motion carried 3-0.

Kamm/Kuhn moved to approve the Floyd County Employee Handbook effective today with the exception of allowing the transition of the new accrual paid time off schedule to be in affect by July 1, 2014 and request various boards and elected officials to sign off to comply to the same terms of the handbook,.  Motion carried 3-0.

Kuhn/Kamm moved to approve the FY15 salary increases for the County Attorney at 3.875%, the Sheriff, Auditor, Recorder and Treasurer at 2.875%, the Board of Supervisors at 1.875% all as recommended by the Compensation Board and a 2.875% increase for all other non-union, non-bargaining unit employees.  Motion carried 3-0.

Kamm/Kuhn moved to approve Laurie Simpson for a 3% wage increase retroactive to January 1, 2014.  Motion carried 3-0. 

Kamm/Kuhn moved to budget seven pay periods in FY15 with no county contributions to the health care fund.  Motion carried 3-0. 

Kamm/Kuhn moved to approve the Holly Avenue bridge project with Brennan Construction of Lansing, Iowa for $560,306.30 and authorize the chair to sign when the contract is available.  Motion carried 3-0. 

Kuhn/Kamm moved to hire Matt Haggarty as an Equipment Operator II at $16.47/hour effective February 18 and Adam Heitz as a General Mechanic at $17.06/hour effective February 24, both for the Secondary Roads Department and pending post offer requirements.  Motion carried 3-0.

Engineer’s Report:  Dusten Rolando, County Engineer, provided his timesheet and foreman’s notes.  Crews have been busy with snow removal.  Rolando will be seeking bids for two new pickups for the department.  Rolando updated the board on paving and culvert projects.  The Board discussed the gas tax legislation and a resolution some counties have acted on in support of the tax.  The Rockford dam project is proceeding. 

The Board continued with FY15 budget reviews.  Budget requests from outside agencies were reviewed.  The Board requested the Auditor put together a proposed schedule for longevity pay.

Schwickerath/Kamm motioned to adjourn the meeting.  Motion carried 3-0.


ATTEST:  ________________________________________            _________________________________

           Gloria A. Carr                                                       Roy N. Schwickerath, Chair

            Floyd County Auditor  Floyd


©2010, The Schneider Corporation  -  Website designed and maintained by The Schneider Corporation