Meeting Minutes

Floyd County Board of Supervisors Meeting

March 11, 2014, 9:00 AM


The Floyd County Board of Supervisors met in the Board Room of the Floyd County Courthouse with the following in attendance:  Supv Schwickerath, Chair, Supv Kamm and Supv Kuhn. 

Kamm/Kuhn moved to amend the agenda to remove Review/Action regarding a 28E agreement for County Social Services from the agenda and approve the agenda as amended.  Motion carried 3-0.

Public comment:  none

Kamm/Kuhn moved to approve February 25 and March 3, 2014 minutes as presented.  Motion carried 2-0.

Schwickerath/Kuhn moved to approve the following claims:  County #2640-2790 and Secondary Roads #15731-15772.  Motion carried 3-0.

Kuhn/Kamm moved to approve the Professional Services Contract with Yaggy Colby for the Beaver Creek Watershed projects and authorize the chair to sign upon clarification of terms of the agreement.  Motion carried 3-0.

Kamm/Kuhn moved to approve Resolution #09-14 Increasing the Veteran Affairs Commission from Three to Five Commissioners:  Whereas, Iowa Code Chapter 35B.3 allows the county commission of veteran affairs to consist of either three or five persons, as determined by the board of supervisors, and Iowa Code Chapter 35B.4 requires that if the board of supervisors increases the commission of veteran affairs membership to five members, the initial terms of the two new members shall be two and three years respectively, and Whereas, the Floyd County Board of Supervisors deems it is in the best interest of the veterans of Floyd County to have representation from five commissioners instead of three, and deems it appropriate for a regular term to be three years and limit the number of terms for each commissioner to serve to a maximum of three consecutive terms.  Therefore, be it resolved by the Floyd County Board of Supervisors that the membership of the Floyd County Veteran Affairs Commission be increased from three to five commissioners effective April 1, 2014 with one new commissioner being appointed to a term ending June 30, 2016 and one new commissioner being appointed to a term ending June 30, 2017, and be it also resolved that all commissioners be appointed to serve in accordance with Iowa Code Chapters 35B and limit the terms for commissioners to serve to no more than three consecutive three-year terms.  Motion carried 3-0.

Kuhn/Kamm moved to approve an agreement with Cost Advisory Services, Inc. to provide professional consulting services to Floyd County for county central services.  Motion carried 3-0. 

Kuhn/Kamm moved to set a public hearing for a FY14 budget amendment for April 8 at 9:30 a.m.  Motion carried 3-0. 

Kamm/Kuhn moved to set a public hearing for the Precast Box Culvert Project for April 8 at 9:30 a.m. Motion carried 3-0.

Engineerís Report:  Dusten Rolando, County Engineer, provided foremanís minutes and his timesheet.  Rolando informed the Board of purchasing pickups for the department.  Proposals for the purchase of new computers and an Autocad in the office are being reviewed.  Rolando discussed the route for RAGBRAI passing through Nora Springs, Rockford, and Marble Rock on Day 5 of the route.  Bridge projects across the county were discussed; Rolando is working on the new 5-year plan.  Nate OíNeill, Secondary Roads Mechanic, started yesterday.  The Board informed Rolando about the conference call with Chickasaw County including a 4% wage increase and the starting the taxable benefit of using a county-owned vehicle. 

Kuhn/Kamm moved to open the public hearing for the FY15 County budget at 9:30 a.m.  Motion carried 3-0.  The Auditor reported that she received no written or oral comments in support of or in opposition to the proposed budget.  There were no public comments during the hearing.  Kuhn/Kamm moved to close the public hearing at 9:31 a.m.  Motion carried 3-0.  Kamm/Kuhn moved to approve the FY15 County Budget as presented, including setting the wages for the elected officials.  Motion carried 3-0. 

Kamm/Schwickerath motioned to adjourn the meeting.  Motion carried 5-0.


ATTEST:  ________________________________________            _________________________________

           Gloria A. Carr                                                      Roy N. Schwickerath, Chair

           Floyd County Auditor                                        Floyd County Board of Supervisors


©2010, The Schneider Corporation  -  Website designed and maintained by The Schneider Corporation