Meet the Planning & Zoning Office...
Laurie Simpson, Zoning Administrator
Board Members
Zoning Commission: Susan Nelson, Chair
Dean Tjaden, Vice-Chair
Tami Vetter
Glen Zubrod
Dennis Carney

Board of Adjustment: Ann Sullivan, Chair
Bill Fluhrer, Vice-Chair
Angela Ruzicka
Dennis Staudt
David Boehmer
Planning & Zoning Links
Flood Plain Info
Contact the Planning & Zoning Office.
Upcoming Hearings
Related Links
Meeting Minutes

March 28, 2011


          Minutes of Zoning Commission Meeting held on March 28, 2011.


                Board members present were Thomas Schwab, Duane Koch, and Susan Nelson.  Also present were Jeff Sherman-Administrator and Misty Day, Assistant.  Roll call of Board members was taken and three (3) of the (5) members were present, with Board members Michael Goddard and Dean Tjaden being absent.   


            The Board opened the meeting with the election of officers.  Motion to appoint Thomas Schwab as Chair was made by Susan Nelson and was seconded by Duane Koch.  Motion to appoint Susan Nelson as Co-Chair was made by Thomas Schwab and seconded by Duane Koch.  Roll call vote was taken and the appointments were unanimously approved. 


            Discussion was had concerning the Board of Adjustment’s activities during 2010.  A printout of the activities was provided to the Commission Members which outlined 10 conditional use requests for home based business/industry type activities, a conditional use request for an expansion of a quarry, a conditional use request for horses on a parcel less than 10 acres, a conditional use request for a residential wind turbine, and a joint meeting with the Commission regarding a shooting range.


            Discussion was had concerning the creation of By-laws for the Planning & Zoning Commission.  Assistant Day provided an example of Planning & Zoning By-laws from Washington County.  The Commission asked for time to review the example.  After reviewing the example, the Commission made a unanimous decision to table discussion until the end of the meeting.


            The meeting with NIACOG concerning the changes to the Comprehensive Plan and Ordinance was held next.  Joe Myhre and Dan Schroeder from NIACOG were present for the meeting.  Farm Bureau representatives, Chuck Souder and Randy Heitz, and the Floyd County Attorney, Norm Klemesrud, were also present for the meeting.  Farm Bureau presented some proposed changes and comments from their attorney to the Commission.  Some discussion was held concerning the changes and it was determined that NIACOG, the Commission, and the County Attorney needed some time to review the comments.  Discussion was held concerning the next step and it was determined that once all changes have been made and finalized, the public hearing process for adoption would take place.  Assistant Day inquired about publishing the Ordinance in the paper and it was determined that a summary of the ordinance would be sufficient and that NIACOG would be responsible for preparing the summary.  NIACOG also advised the Commission that it would be a good idea to hold all three (3) public hearings rather then waiving the 2nd and 3rd and it was determined that the Supervisors also agreed with this.


            Final discussion was held concerning the By-laws and it was determined that the Commission would like Assistant Day to type up the By-laws to fit Floyd County and present them at our next meeting.


Motion to adjourn the meeting was made by Susan Nelson and seconded by Duane Koch.


Meeting adjourned.


Zoning Administrator


Jeff D. Sherman



©2010, The Schneider Corporation  -  Website designed and maintained by The Schneider Corporation