Meet the Planning & Zoning Office...
Laurie Simpson, Zoning Administrator
Board Members
Zoning Commission: Susan Nelson, Chair
Dean Tjaden, Vice-Chair
Tami Vetter
Glen Zubrod
Dennis Carney

Board of Adjustment: Ann Sullivan, Chair
Bill Fluhrer, Vice-Chair
Angela Ruzicka
Dennis Staudt
David Boehmer
Planning & Zoning Links
Flood Plain Info
Contact the Planning & Zoning Office.
Upcoming Hearings
Related Links
Meeting Minutes

       Minutes of Board of Adjustment’s Hearing held on November 19, 2013.


I.                 Call to Order.  Meeting was called to order at 9:00 a.m.  Board members present were Ann Sullivan, Bill Fluhrer, Dennis Staudt and Angela Ruzicka.  Also present were Laurie Simpson, Zoning Administrator and Applicant, James Zimmerman.  Roll call of Board members was taken with four out of the five (5) members present.  Board member John Gohr was absent.


II.               Approval of Agenda.  Motion to approve the agenda, as presented, was made by Dennis Staudt and seconded by Angela Ruzicka.  Motion was unanimously approved.


III.              Approval of Minutes.  Motion to approve the meeting minutes of hearing held on August 20, 2013, was made by Bill Fluhrer and seconded by Dennis Staudt.  Motion was unanimously approved.


IV.              Old Business.  No old business.


V.               New Business. 


A.     A conditional use request was made by James Zimmerman to operate a surplus store on

property located at 1879 Triumph Street, Charles City, in Section 32, Township 96 North,

Range 15 West of the 5th P.M., Niles Township, Floyd County, Iowa.  Applicant James

Zimmerman was present for the hearing.  Applicant presented to the Board his plan to operate the surplus store.  The Board made inquiry on the type of products being sold.  Mr. Zimmerman indicated he buys shipments from a certain vendor.  Upon receipt of the shipment, he will basically pick the items he believes will sell in his business.  No objections were noted by mail or by any person(s).   Motion to approve the application was made by Bill Fluhrer and seconded by Dennis Staudt.  Motion was unanimously approved.


VI.             Adjourn.   Motion to close the hearing was made by Dennis Staudt and seconded by Angela                         Ruzicka.


Meeting Adjourned.



Zoning Administrator

Laurie Simpson


©2010, The Schneider Corporation  -  Website designed and maintained by The Schneider Corporation