News Flash Home
The original item was published from 7/19/2021 6:19:00 PM to 8/3/2021 10:05:00 PM.

News Flash

2019 - News Carousel

Posted on: July 19, 2021

[ARCHIVED] Aug 3 Special Election - Supervisor Representation Plan


Polls for the August 3 Special Election will be open from 7 a.m. until 8 p.m.  All eight polling places will be open for voting.  In person absentee voting is available Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. until 4:30 p.m. and extended hours on July 30 and August 2 until 5 p.m.  

The ballot will have three plan choices for voters to select from:

  • Plan "one" - At large and without district residence requirements for the members.  The current representation plan is plan "one".  Supervisors are elected for 4-year staggered terms with two seats on the ballot one year and one seat on the ballot two years later.  Eligible electors vote for all three seats, regardless of supervisor residency.  Refer to Iowa Code 331.208 for more information.  
  • Plan "two" - At large but with equal-population district residence requirements for the members.  Each supervisor must reside in a separate supervisor district but shall be elected by the electors of the county at large.  Ballots are prepared to specify the candidate representatives by districts and the voter may cast a vote for one candidate from each district, meaning the voter votes for all three seats on the ballot, two seats one year and one seat two years later.  A redistricting commission shall complete a plan that divides the county into equal districts.  Refer to Iowa Code 331.209 for more information.
  • Plan "three" - From single-membership equal-population districts in which the electors of each district shall elect one member who must resides in that district.  Each supervisor must reside in a separate supervisor district and electors of that district vote for one candidate every four years when the seat for the supervisor is on the ballot for that voter's respective district.  A redistricting commission shall draw supervisor districts like in plan "two" except that the boundaries shall follow voting precinct lines.  Refer to Iowa Code 331.210 for more information.

A plurality (more votes than other choices) of the ballots cast determines the adoption of the representation plan.  Should plan "two" or plan "three" garner the vote, the redistricting plan is to be completed by November 1 and would become effective the following January 1.  For counties with three supervisors, two members shall be elected for four years and one member shall be elected for an initial term of two years with subsequent 4-year terms.  The determination as to whether a term of office shall be for two or four years shall be decided by lot before the primary election, and the results of the determination indicated on the ballot in the primary and general elections.  

Please contact the Floyd County Auditor's Office at 641-257-6131 or visit if you are unsure of your polling place or voter registration status. 

Facebook Twitter Email