News Flash Home
The original item was published from 3/6/2022 2:37:12 PM to 3/15/2022 6:05:00 PM.

News Flash

2019 - News Carousel

Posted on: March 6, 2022

[ARCHIVED] Temporary Redistricting Commission Meeting/Public Hearing on Proposed Supervisor Districts

LSA-Proposed Supv Dist-Plan 1

Temporary Redistricting Committee Meeting Agenda

March 15, 2022;  4:00 p.m.

Floyd County Courthouse EOC/Training Room 

(Use the new atrium entrance connecting the law enforcement center and the courthouse)


  1. Approve Agenda
  2. Approve 11/29/2021 minutes
  3. Review/Discuss process for Plan III Supervisor Districts, including but not limited to the Iowa Secretary of State’s imposed voting precincts and the Legislative Services Agency Proposed Floyd County Supervisor Districts - Plan 1 
  4. 4:05 p.m. Open Public Hearing regarding Proposed Floyd County Supervisor Districts – Plan 1
    1. Hear public comment and receive alternate plans, if any
    2. Close public hearing
  5. Review/Action regarding approval or rejection of Legislative Services Agency’s Floyd County Supervisor Districts – Plan 1, including changes to voting precincts, and recommendation thereof to the Floyd County Board of Supervisors
  6. Adjourn meeting


 Proposed Floyd County Supervisor Districts – Plan 1

Residents of Floyd County are hereby notified that the Floyd County Temporary Redistricting Commission will hold a Public Hearing on March 15 at 4:05 p.m. in the EOC/Training Room of the Floyd County Courthouse, 101 S Main St, Charles City (use the new atrium entrance connecting the law enforcement center and the courthouse).  The purpose of the hearing will be to gather comments on the Proposed Floyd County Supervisor Districts – Plan I.  The proposed plan can be viewed at  Members of the public may offer oral or written comments to the Auditor’s Office prior to the hearing or present them at the hearing and are allowed to present an alternative plan. 

Floyd County is a Plan III County whereby members of the board of supervisors are elected by supervisor districts and each supervisor must live in their respective supervisor district.  Iowa Code 49.3 establishes requirements for election precincts and districts.   Specifically, Iowa Code 49.3(2) establishes the following requirements applicable to Plan III supervisor election districts:

  • All boundaries shall follow precinct boundaries.
  • All districts shall be as nearly equal as practicable to the ideal population for the districts as determined by dividing the number of districts to be established into the county’s population.
  • All districts shall be composed of contiguous territory as compact as practicable.
  • Consideration shall not be given to the addresses of incumbent officeholders, political affiliations or registered voters, previous election results, or demographic information other than population head counts, except as required by the Constitution and the laws of the United States.
  • Cities shall not be divided into two or more county supervisor districts unless the population of the city is greater than the ideal size of a district.  Cities shall be divided into the smallest number of county supervisor districts as possible.

Iowa Code 331.210 governs Plan III supervisor districts and provides that districts shall be drawn as provided in Iowa Code 331.209, except that boundaries shall follow voting precinct lines.  Iowa Code 331.210A(2)(f) governing Plan III county supervisor plans drawn by the Legislative Services Agency, also provides that plans shall be drawn in accordance with Iowa Code 42.4.  The Legislative Services Agency’s Proposed Floyd County Supervisor Districts – Plan I is identified with the following legal descriptions, population, and deviation from the ideal district population:  

  • District 1 – Charles City 1, Scott/Union/Pleasant Grove, and Ulster/St Charles/Riverton precincts; population 5,193; deviation = -16 or -0.31%.
  • District 2 – Charles City 2 and Charles City 3 precincts; population 5,208; deviation = -1 or -0.02%.
  • District 3 – Rock Grove, Rockford, and Rudd/Floyd/Cedar/Niles precincts; population 5,226; deviation = 17 or 0.33%.

Copies of the legal descriptions of the plan, map illustrating the plan, a summary of the standards prescribed by law for development of the plan and a statement of the population of each district are available at the Floyd County Courthouse, in the Floyd County Auditor’s office, 101 S Main St, Charles City and also online at  

For more information, read LSA's Memo on Redistricting Procedure.   

Facebook Twitter Email